About IEEE Bombay Section

IEEE Bombay Section was formed on July 13, 1976 from the erstwhile India Section along with Delhi and Bangalore sections. Initial territory of Bombay Section was Maharashtra, Goa, Gujarat. Gujarat and Pune city separated in 1990 and 2010 respectively. Now the territory includes Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, Diu & Daman.

IEEE Bombay Section is a registered trust and is fully volunteer driven. The Section’s Office is located in the Don Bosco Institute of Technology, Kurla(W), Mumbai. Bombay Section is one of the largest sections in India with 7000+ members, out of which about 4200 are student members spread over about 100 student branches all over the length and breadth of the section geography.

The section currently runs 14 Societies, Affinity Groups and Communities.

Bombay section conducted first ever workshop in 1977, taking an initiative to introduce Microprocessor and its application to our country. International Conference on Systems, Man and Cybernetics of the SMC Society was held in Bombay in 1984 which was the first conference of IEEE held in India. Bombay Section have hosted TENCON which is the the premier annual international technical conference of IEEE Region 10 in 1989 and many more prestigious conferences and other events thereafter.

For more information, please visit www.ieeebombay.org

Comments are closed